It’s been a (not so) long time….

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted but I was out charting and discovering the world. I decided to call the land I discovered “Paris.” Now I know many of you are thinking, “don’t we already have a Paris”, but I figure if it worked for Chris Columbus it should work for me, even though I don’t have Queen Isabella backing me up, I do have the “Fox Force Five!” (Details upcoming).

On the real side, I just got back from a two week trip to Paris, France, and I’m feeling good but still coping with the jet lag. It was my fifth trip to Paris since my older brother, Herm, moved there in the ’90s, but it was all the more sweet because it was only my second with my mother, and she hadn’t seen my brother in 11 years. This is also the first trip my mother has taken since my father passed three years ago, so that added another level of poignancy to our voyage.

Paris was fast, furious, ancient and yet modern at the same time. It was my first time there in any season other than summer, and though we had a few surprisingly warm days, the cold was not too bad to deal with on most days. I was really impressed with the fashions I saw, and I believe I saw some of the infamous “Sapuers” of the Congo, African brothers who are deathly serious about their sartorial choices. I was really fascinated by it, as I’ve always tried (some times to no avail) to be a really spiffily dressed dude myself, but some of these cats were on a whole new leve, as to be expected in a bastion of fashion such as Paris, France.  It inspired me to pick up the coffee table book “Gentleman of the Bacongo” and to get this movie called “Viva Riva”, which is set in Kinsasha. It’s supposed to be a fly crime film set in Africa, so I’m real excited about checking it and it’s on tap for my weekend.

This particular weekend, the first of November, will be a really exciting one for me. First, there are a plethora of movie’s I wanna check out, “Wreck It Ralph”, “The Man with the Iron Fist”, “Argo”, “Flight”, “Looper”, “Skyfall”, and others, it’s really a cracking fall season in terms of celluloid capers! “The Man with the Iron Fist” in particular interests me because the Wu Tang Clan rocked my world a long time ago and it will be intersting to see their complex post modern pop culture mash up take film form. I thought “Ghost Dog” was the closest we’d see to the Wu-Tang doctrine in film form, next to the still unseen by my eyes “Bobby Digital”, but I’m really excited to see what RZA does in his directorial debut, with a first rate cast (Russell Crowe, Lucy Liu, Pam Grier). This movie also serves as a morsel to wet my appetite for a movie I’ve been awaiting for a long time now, Quentin Tarantino’s epic, “Django Unchained”, due out next month, December 25, 2012.

I also will be hitting the nightclub scene this weekend, something I didn’t do much of before in anticipation of my trip to Paris, and did a little bit of in Paris (the Irish pub was playing some Love Rance! And the proprieter was an LA cat with an Oakland grannie!!!). This weekend will be extremely special, for the past seven years I’ve been a die hard partier at Bomb Hip Hop’s Prince and Michael Experience here in the Bay Area, and this Saturday for the tenth anniversary, they’re bringing in Jerome Benton himself to host. I look to snap a pic or two with him and for him to hype things up to a whole new level. If you’re in the bay this weekend, come on down to the Madrone Art Bar on Divisadero and make some history!!!!

I’m going to be focusing a lot of attention on this blog now that I’m back, look for posts soon on the Prince and Michael Experience 10th Anniversary, my trip to Paris, the Oakland A’s baseball team, movie reviews, a comparison of Bootsy’s Rubber Band’s song “Jam Fan (Hot)” and the Time’s “Cool”, and a review of Michael Chabon’s “Telegraph Avenue” which was my reading material on the Paris trip and thrilled me with its Bay Area fog burning off into a sunny day accurate portrait of the Bay Area and the accurate depictions of it’s culturally diverse cast. So on a writing level, I’m going to be doing as one of my favorite songs said and be “Grindin” into 2013!

Me and mom in front of somebodies door in Paris:

A post shared by Henrique Hopkins (@rique11oak) on

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

